The Wind-up

Before all the biggest baseball pitches, there’s a spectacular wind-up. There’s always a moment of calm before the storm. Soon, we are going to have our SMST2 family back together again – with some new members too! And trust me, it’s going to be amazing. But before we let the good times begin, there needs to be a little rest period!

When everyone walks through the door and we’re finally reunited, it will most likely look like this:
Yay!
Yay!
After every workout, we’ll have a celebration of how hard we’ve worked and how awesome it felt to sweat. And THAT will probably look something like this…
Oh yeah.
Oh yeah.
In all seriousness, we are excited to get rolling on the 2015-16 training season. There will be a lot of tough workouts, a lot of fun, epic skis and runs, many trips to the gym to get strong(er), and a lot of technique focus. Right now, however, the members of our team are spread out across the country finishing up spring break and making sure they are rested and ready for the months ahead! Let’s get caught up with what everyone’s doing right now.
Checking in from Mexico: Sophie and Simi
“Simi and I arrived in Mexico a few days ago for a climbing/beach trip. It’s hard to call it vacation this first week because trying to keep up with Simi’s family climbing leaves me constantly out of breath and sore. We’re in northern Mexico right now and then heading further south in a few days to go to a wedding and enjoy some beach time. Then before we know it we will be back in park city for out start up camp!”
Simi taking a short break after an awesome climb
Simi taking a short break after an awesome climb
Sophie with her "Girls on the Run" group in Vermont before flying to Mexico
Sophie with her “Girls on the Run” group in Vermont before flying to Mexico

 

Checking in from Middlebury: Annie P

“After Spring Series I went straight back to Vermont to finish up spring semester at Middlebury College. I had missed the majority of the first half of the semester while racing in Europe, so I had a ton to catch up on, both academically and socially. When not in classes or being studious in the library, I’ve been doing all things vertical: climbing, hiking, alpine touring, and biking. The snow has lasted in Vermont, so I’ve had the chance to ski all the way through May! I have a few weeks left in the semester before returning to Stratton to celebrate the reunion of the team and start up a brand new year!”

Study time!
Study time!
Late April Powder day at Sugarbush
Late April Powder day at Sugarbush

 

Checking in from Dartmouth: Paddy 

“I’m back to hitting the books at Dartmouth. Early in the term the spring skiing in Lyme was fantastic – picture below from a 30 mile tour a few weeks ago.. Now gearing up for Midterm Exams and the start of a new training season.”

Paddy out on an epic ski!
Paddy out on an epic ski!

 

Checking in from Minnesota: Anne H

“With the start of May came the start of my ‘real’ training for the 2015-16 season. I’ve been busy at home in Minnesota fitting in family, food, friends, fun runs, flexing muscles in the gym…and yes even roller skiing. I’ll be headed back East for a little bit on Friday, then back to Minnesota to get one more shot of home before heading back to Vermont to join the rest of my teamies June 1st. In summary, I’m getting ready to send it!”

Annie running a half-marathon. Sending it!
Anne running a half-marathon. Sending it!

 

Checking in from California: Andy and Erika

“Vacation month! Surfing, swimming, SUP-ing, and just generally playing in the waves and sand on the California coast near Santa Cruz, watching Erika’s sister run her second marathon in Big Sur, CA, eating oysters and lucky charms because.. vacation:)”
Andy and Erika on the coast!
Andy and Erika on the coast!
Right now, from Andy: “After a super rad fun vacation with Erika in California I am back in Vermont to start up the training year. I’ve already headed out on a few roller skis but will try to ease back into the training season and enjoy a few more days at home before traveling out to Utah. Erika and I will be in Utah for a month taking advantage of some high altitude living and COE training!”
Andy running out in CA
Andy running out in CA
Right now, from Erika: “Stretching my already sore muscles (courtesy of Goob’s track workout plan…8X200 after not doing a track workout for at least 6 years will do some funny things to your legs) and enjoying the spring sunshine in Montana!”
Erika with her sister Natalie on vacation
Erika with her sister Natalie on vacation
Checking in from Dartmouth: Ben
“I have been absolutely LOVING my roller-blading class at Dartmouth that I signed up for on a whim. It has taken on an entirely new meaning for me, and in rollerblading, I have actually found metaphors for nearly every aspect of life! While I stand by my original choice for a major in college, I’m given serious consideration to rollerblading as a minor, and in the meantime I’ve worked to make this a seamless immersion experience to the world of derby skating and disco lighting.”
Ben at the roller rink
Ben at the roller rink

 

Checking in from Minnesota: Jessie

“After a wonderful 6 day vacation in Costa Rica, I returned home to my family in Minnesota with a sunburn, a longing for fresh pineapple, sore arms from surfing, and a huge smile! It was a great way to celebrate the end of a long season and re-set with some hot, bright sun.
Right now, I’ll be spending another 2 weeks with my family. I’ll see my little sister in 3 different theatre productions, help my Mom plant the garden and the vegetable garden, help my Dad with the yard work, and help coach some local skiers in a training camp. Then I’ll fly west to Park City for the first USST camp of the year before FINALLY seeing my SMST2 teammates!”
Jessie enjoying some beach time
Jessie enjoying some beach time
Getting psyched up to start training again!
Getting psyched up to start training again!

Everyone is having a great spring break and now that we are rested up…let the training begin!

Leave a Reply

