Wrapping up Spring Term!

Paddy Caldwell checks in from Dartmouth Spring Term

Ben and I are nearing the end of spring term here at Dartmouth. We just finished week eight out of ten so the finish line is fast approaching! The end of the term always seems to get pretty hectic here with a million different things going on around campus. Now that we are well into the month of May training has started to pick up. Ben, Luke Brown (Dartmouth Freshman) and I celebrated the end of the week with a long road ride this afternoon.

Here’s Ben looking sharp with his new wheels
Out on a road ride
Here's Ben looking sharp with his new wheels
Here’s Ben looking sharp with his new wheels

This is one of my favorite times of the year for training in Hanover. The roads aren’t too busy with summer traffic and the long days help fit sessions in around classes. Lots of early morning runs and late afternoon road rides these days. Its been awesome getting back into training. I’m just getting out of the phase when everything is sore from getting back to training – looking forward to more long runs on the Appalachian Trail soon. This morning I ran into three guys from Georgia who are making there way north to Maine on the AT, got me antsy to get up into the White Mountains for some epic ODs soon.

not a bad view for study time..
not a bad view for study time..

This spring I am taking two Geography courses and one Economics course. I am particularly excited about my classes this term because all three of them are for my major.

At Dartmouth last week we had spring weekend “Green Key” at Dartmouth which featured some awesome concerts and beautiful weather. My favorite show of the weekend was definitely MisterWives (shown below).

At the Mister Wives concert
At the Mister Wives concert

My highlight of the weekend however was going to my cousin’s wedding in Bristol, VT. I drove up with my sister Heidi Saturday afternoon – she is busy coaching cross country and track and field at Tufts University in Boston so it was great to have to time to catch up with her.

The venue for the post ceremony dinner, music and dance!
The venue for the post ceremony dinner, music and dance!

The venue, Zeno Mountain Farm, was spectacular – perfect spot for the big event.

Me, my mom, Heidi and my Dad - if you look closely you can see Lake Champlain in the background
Me, my mom, Heidi and my Dad – if you look closely you can see Lake Champlain in the background

Now its time to buckle down for the last week of classes and finals! Then I’m off to Colorado and Utah for a week of mountain adventures and testing in Park City. After that I’ll be down in Stratton until we ship off to New Zealand.

One thought on “Wrapping up Spring Term!

Leave a Reply

