Activities with Annie (P)

You know, there are a lot of interpretations of the word “active.” Some consider hitting the spin bike three times a week an active lifestyle, others, nothing short of a hundred miles on foot. There are active minds, active hearts and a huge list of active verbs. One can be re-active, pro-active and even radio-active (like the spider, not the song). Then there’s the mix of all of the above, embodied by me in the last month.

In May, I started training, stopped training for surgery, finished the semester at Middlebury College, started training again, and went on countless adventures in between. It was probably one of my busiest stretches ever, I was constantly on the move. And I loved it! I did SO MANY ACTIVITIES, including those that required an active mind, heart and ability to perform many verbs.

THE MIND: A semester into my senior year at Middlebury College, I continued to pursue my philosophy degree (What will I do with that you ask? Ski fast) while taking in all Midd had to offer. I’m now done with the semester but will spend the summer writing my senior thesis.

IMG_9742

Learning about muskets at Fort Ticoneroga. The East is so cool and old and full of history!
Learning about muskets at Fort Ticoneroga. The East is so cool and old and full of history!

THE HEART: Cardiovascular-wise, May was a solid month of adventure exercise (to come in active verbs). But it was also a chance for me to get close with some of my old school friends and teammates. Although we were apart, our SMS T2 crew kept in good touch this spring. I got to visit with Sophie, Annie, Ben and Paddy in person, while skype and text sessions kept me in touch with Jessie, Andy and Simi. Meanwhile, heavy snapchatting and phone calls and love emails kept Wild Card Ruka (Erika) and the Korn Kob Kid (me) connected.

Hiking with my Momma when she surprise visited me at school
Hiking with my Momma when she surprise visited me at school
Hiking with my gal pals in Acadia National park
Hiking with my gal pals in Acadia National park

And finally: Active Verbs!

RUN: Due to my surgery, I wasn’t allowed to use my upper body for a few weeks (sorry, pullups) so I ran more miles in the month than I probably ever have. It’s amazing where you can get on your own two feet, I went for amazing runs in the Green Mountains, Adirondacks, Whites and in Acadia.

7 Sisters Trail Race in Massachusetts
7 Sisters Trail Race in Massachusetts

CAMP:Something I don’t do often enough, but got to do more than once this spring.

My buddy rolls out her muscles at our campsite.
My buddy rolls out her muscles at our campsite.

TRAVELI got the grand tour of the East this spring, chasing activities in New York, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine.

Acadia. Wherever we go, our T2 Foundation hats are always close at hand!
Acadia. Wherever we go, our T2 Foundation hats are always close at hand!

WAIT With an additional month before reporting to Stratton this year, I have been anxiously waiting to see my teammates and get summer group training underway. Soon the wait will be over and we’ll be sure to keep you up to date on all of our summer activities here!

-AP

Leave a Reply

