Ready for the next phase

Anne catches us up on what she’s been doing in Minnesota with another great analogy.

What happens when you catch a leaf falling?

 

This question was posed to a group of trail marathoners about to embark on a 26.2 mile adventure throughout the wonderful woods of Wisconsin at the Birkie Trail Run.  After about a minute of guessing, the announcer revealed that catching a falling leaf, apparently, cured the common cold.

 

I hadn’t heard that advice before, but needless to say I spent the rest of the morning not running the marathon (I lucked out with a great marathon relay team, and got especially lucky with a 2.7 mile net downhill assigned leg), but focusing on catching leaves.  Maybe, I thought, if I caught enough leaves I could save them for a time I actually got sick.  I didn’t catch any, so I’m hoping this doesn’t lead to some reverse fortune that leaves me sick the entire year.

 

This was my first interaction with a superstition this week.

 

Last night was a rare lunar event- a full lunar eclipse combined with a blood moon.  My sister and I checked in on the moon every half hour or so, watching the moon slowly be eclipsed.  And, just as we were going to bed the moon turned a rather eerie shade of orange.  If I hadn’t known what was going on, I’m fairly certain I would think the world was ending.  As luck would have it, I live in the 21st century, I have internet, and after some research knew exactly what was happening.

The blood moon!
The blood moon!

 

Further, I stumbled across a superstition held by some ancient cultures about the blood moon. In Wiccan philosophy (a philosophy rooted in the idea that the Universe, and everything in it is a manifestation of the divine), the blood moon represents a “compelling time to build, to begin, to create, to start something and flow into a new way of being,” as well as “a time to shed old, useless habits.”

 

Not so bad as far as superstitions go.  And, I think it must be true.  The end of September and October is a special time for the nordic skier.  Training becomes more focused, intensity becomes a lot harder, and we begin to flow into the racing state of mind.  Further, it is especially pertinent to the SMS T2 team.

 

Tomorrow (!) we are doing our annual ski-a-thon, which we use as a platform for raising funds for the remainder of the year.  It’s a time to build our base (and fitness), create an ever broadening structure of community support, and start another racing season.  Follow our website for lots of pictures, exciting stories, and maybe some Ski-a-Thon superstitions.
I’m not sure how the shedding old useless habits applies, but it can’t be a bad thing 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

