Better Together

Jessie recaps a week of training and how SMS gets faster together!

This is not an individual sport that we do. Nobody gets better at something all by themselves. It takes a team of people, a community supporting you, to achieve your goals. And I feel so very lucky to have all the right people in my life!

Girls train during a long skate on some beautiful roads (photo from Pat)
Girls train during a long skate on some beautiful roads (photo from Pat)
I love this bridge. (photo by Coach Pat)
I love this bridge. “One Dollar Fine if you drive faster than a walk on this bridge”. (photo by Coach Pat)

Whenever we’re training, we get better together. We get faster by working as a team, and it’s fun to know that all my teammates contribute to my racing and I to theirs. So when they have a great day and a personal best, I know that I was a part of that, and they were a part of my best races, too!

More pretty green mountains and girls working hard. (Pat photo)
More pretty green mountains and girls working hard. (Pat photo)

In other training news, things around here have been pretty sweet. Still working on my balance and air-awareness (and keeping training super fun) by using the trampoline and foam pit at the school.

A frozen moment in time...really trusting that landing. (Cork photo)
A frozen moment in time…really trusting that landing. (Cork photo)

I got to jump into Erika and Andy’s pool in their rental unit and finally be the center of a giant donut, which obviously made me quite happy.

Yay! Such a happy place! (photo and donut from Erika)
Yay! Such a happy place! (photo and donut from Erika)

We’re still working hard in the gym to get strong…for inspiration, check out the amazing core that Erika is doing here!

Erika doing some creative core work,
Erika doing some creative core work.

And now that it’s getting hot out, we’re cooling off in every body of water we can find post-workout!

Ready for a cold dip! (photo from Sophie)
Ready for a cold dip! (photo from Sophie)

My new exciting news is that this weekend, I’m flying to Norway to join the Norwegian National Team in a training camp. I know quite a few of the girls on the team and they are all super nice and fun to hang out with during the winter, so I’m very excited to get to know them better and see Norway in the summertime!

Leave a Reply

