Julia’s Park City Camp

Fresh off a training camp in Park City, Julia is back in Stratton to report on how it went! 

I headed out to Park City, UT for a training camp the last 2 weeks. The focus of the camp was setting a foundation for the year in various aspects of training and getting baseline numbers in testing. My strength coach Tschana, lead us through movement screening, force plate testing, and movement progressions.

Tschana leading me through movement screening.
Tschana leading me through movement screening.

The movement progressions were a combination of foot, ladder, and hurdle drills in order to learn proper running, striding, bounding and skating form. I found the movement progression extremely valuable because I became aware of my body position and mechanics, allowing myself to minimize “leaking energy” movements (usually occurs with poor technique) in order to maximize efficiency.

Ladder drills as part of learning the proper running and bounding form.
Ladder drills as part of learning the proper running and bounding form.
Urban bounding. I was working on my stable core and triple extension.
Urban bounding. I was working on my stable core and triple extension.

I also really enjoyed training with my friends, Hannah, Hailey, and Leah! It is always exciting to train with people outside my normal training group because I learn new things by following different people and talking about our different training philosophies.

Skate Intervals.
Skate Intervals.
Distance ski up Emigration Canyon.
Distance ski up Emigration Canyon.
Hannah and I bounding together.
Hannah and I bounding together.

With the Center of Excellence in Park City, I enjoyed working together with all of my resources (coaches, strength coach, PT, nutritionist, psychologist) in one place. I learned an incredible amount out there and I am excited to apply what I learned into every day training here in Stratton for the rest of the summer!

Leave a Reply

