School and skiing

Paddy sends an update from Dartmouth!

(One of my favorite workouts of the summer – L3 intervals at BMD: JK)
(One of my favorite workouts of the summer – L3 intervals at BMD: JK)

Summer is flying by! We have one more week of classes and exams here in Hanover before the summer term is over. I have really enjoyed taking classes this summer. Overall I thought that balancing training with schoolwork went quite well. That being said I am really excited for a break from school once the term wraps up! One of the highlights of the month for me was having both of my sisters home in Lyme for over two weeks. My eldest sister Lucy works in London and Heidi is off to graduate school at UVM this fall – it is rare to have everyone together. Lots of chill time at home, long family meals plus some swimming, canoeing and cribbage at the cabin. 

(Fishing excursion with Nadler)
(Fishing excursion with Nadler)

Last weekend I joined a group of Dartmouth skiers as well as the Ford Sayre junior team for the annual Mount Moosilauke time-trial. The racecourse is three and a half mile stretch of single track starting at the base of the mountain at the Ravine Lodge and finishing at the summit. It is a notoriously brutal event. One of the hardest parts of the race is the uneven trail – for the entirety of the course you have to navigate over very technical terrain ranging from rocky switchbacks to sketchy river crossings. For the last year or two I have missed the time-trial because of travel and I was really pumped to get another time under my belt. We had perfect race conditions and lots of personal best performances. It was fun to put a bib on again and go through a full race routine with a healthy dose of prerace nerves. Gets me fired up for racing this winter!

(Nearing the finish line at the top of Moosilauke)
(Nearing the finish line at the top of Moosilauke)
(Me and Anne at the summit post race)
(Me and Anne at the summit post race)
Leave a Reply

