Jessie’s post-NZ break

Jessie shares what she does to relax after a big, big camp! 

Leaving one of the most beautiful countries on earth!
Leaving one of the most beautiful countries on earth!

Our most recent training camp in New Zealand was AMAZING! I’m so happy with how the team looks. Everyone made some significant strides in their technique (no pun intended, although classic striding was indeed a big focus). The training that we did included some pretty large volume weeks with racing intensity thrown in there, so it’s just as important to make sure that our recovery after the camp is finished is high quality!

Enjoying a low key bike ride with my parents.
Enjoying a low key bike ride with my parents.

I hadn’t seen my family in Minnesota since May when I left to attend our first training camp of the year, so I was very excited to have four days at home with my parents and younger sister. The first thing I did was run out in the pouring rain to pluck some veggies from the garden for our dinner, and then cuddle with our little dog.

Our cute little garden
Our cute little garden

I got to spend an afternoon and evening out on the St. Croix river with my parents (my little sister was at work and unfortunately couldn’t come that day) and we had fun jumping in and going off the slide!

Not quite landing a backflip...oops!
Not quite landing a backflip…oops! (photo by my Mom)
Dad and I jumping off the deck!
Dad and I jumping off the deck!

I also went to a play at the Guthrie theater with my family. This is a really fun thing for all of us as my younger sister is really into the performing arts, so it’s something we can all enjoy as a family, just as much as we enjoy skiing together!

My sister and I on the deck of the Guthrie building.
My sister and I on the deck of the Guthrie building.

While it’s always hard to leave home, I’m excited to return to Stratton to get back into team training, get out in those beautiful fall leaves, and continue to make more improvements before the season begins!

-Jessie

Leave a Reply

