Annie’s Summer Review

After spending the entirety of the summer training months chasing pavement in and around Stratton, we are now three days into Fall and I’ve begun my migrating west.  I have two weeks at home in Minnesota, then one week visiting my boyfriend Thomas at his new home in Rapid City, South Dakota and will then meet up with the rest of the team in Park City for the annual October camp.  I’m so excited for the upcoming week (even more so now that I’m feeling rested after a period of easy training), but before I jump into fall training (and leaves), I thought I’d reflect a bit on the summer.  Without further ado, here are my top three summer takeaways!

1. Training is Training is Training

Going into my third summer as a professional skier, I’ve learned that my best training happens when I’m rooted in one spot, focusing on stringing together a series of high quality training sessions.  When it comes down to it, getting fitter, stronger, and consequently faster is simple- you need to train correctly and sufficiently, while also figuring out how to recover quicker and better than before.  This summer I did a great job of both training and resting, while keeping things interesting by focusing on different cues, finding some new training favorites, and following around my best friends on the roads and trails.  All of us at Stratton are in happy and healthy places, and I can’t wait to see what we do once the snow falls!

img_4282.jpg
Finishing up a Four (plus) hour run with Erika, Lauren, and Jessie in August
img_0551.jpg
Friends helping Friends 🙂

2. Find your weaknesses, but don’t forget about your strengths

This is something I can’t reiterate enough. It is so easy to get wrapped up in things you aren’t good at, that you forget about the things you ARE good at, leaving you generally frustrated.  During a distance workout this summer, Pat told us all to own what we were good at, and to unabashedly take the lead in those situations.  We have such a strong training group at Stratton, and also a diverse crew.  We all excel in different aspects, and as a result we all improve.  So remember to take ownership of your strengths, and find others to help you improve your weaknesses.

USST-Roller-Ski-6-1.30.16-2940-XL-1024x682.jpg
Jessie leads a double pole interval train mid July

3. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results (Albert Einstein)

Finally, this summer I was reminded that it is important to look for things to change.  Whether that is your approach to training, technique cues, or your mental state, the most important thing is to figure out what works for you.  This often takes the form of a lot of trial and error, but once you nail it…you’ve nailed it.  The biggest change I made this summer was more or less eliminating a lot of hard interval and speed work.  Instead I focused on general volume, efficiency at threshold, and pacing.  As a result, I am more excited than ever to be entering fall- I’m slowly adding in higher intensity and speed work, and it is so fun to go fast.

IMG_3221.jpg
Doing volume with the best squad ever late June

I’ll report back with some fall takeaways in November 🙂  But for now I’m psyched to be home for a couple weeks, explore some Minnesota terrain, and get my basic fall on (RE: Eat all things pumpkin and apple, pull out my scarves and sweaters, and then instagram it all).

IMG_2221.JPG
xoxo, Annie (aka the GOOB).
Leave a Reply

