Julia’s Update from Dartmouth

Julia writes in from her fall term! 

I am officially half way through my fall term at Dartmouth! Although I am sad to be away from my SMS team, being at Dartmouth has been a nice change of scenery. Known as one of the best training locations, I have enjoyed running and roller skiing in completely new places every workout. One of my favorite days of the week is Sunday because we do an OD run/hike somewhere new every single weekend! Last weekend we did one of my favorite routes in the East, the Franconia ridge. Although the summits of Mount Flume, Little Haystack, and Lafayette were in the clouds, we were able to get a glimpse of the incredible foliage on our decent. Not only are these OD runs really fun, I find that they are a great way to get in shape and take a break from hitting the books! We have had some bad luck with weather, with only 1/4 OD runs in the sun, but that hasn’t put a damper on my mood!

We hit the summit 30 minutes too early to catch a view. (OD run #2)
We hit the summit 30 minutes too early to catch a view. (OD run #2)
But the sun cam out soon after as we ran through the Grant.  (OD #2)
But the sun cam out soon after as we ran through the Grant. (OD #2)
Our best view during Cube-Smart OD run with my teammates Abby and Leah. (OD run #3)
Our best view during Cube-Smart OD run with my teammates Abby and Leah. (OD run #3)
At the extremely windy summit of Lafayette with Zoe and Meg! (OD #4).
At the extremely windy summit of Lafayette with Zoe and Meg! (OD #4).
Caught a beautiful view on our way down! (OD #4).
Caught a beautiful view on our way down! (OD #4).

With full time training and school, I have been practicing the balance act. With the first set of midterms out of the way, I am now resting up for the USST training camp in Park City, where I will be reunited with both my SMS and USST teammates for two weeks! Missing class while at a training camp will be a new kind of balancing act, but I am looking forward to challenge and I am excited to get together with a bunch of fast people and train hard!

One way to celebrate finishing midterms is by taking a nice nap.
One way to celebrate finishing midterms is by taking a nice nap.
I stumbled across this concert the other night and enjoyed winding down to some awesome live music at school!
I stumbled across this concert the other night and enjoyed winding down to some awesome live music at school!

Now off to Park City!

Leave a Reply

